APSU women on the move

June 1, 2017

While the APS United men’s teams are doing it hard this season, the women’s team has continued its good form to place second in its division at Cruden Farm. Sam McLean was the best of the men, finishing third in his M40+ age group.

Olympians tackle the Tan

May 26, 2017

This year’s Dyson Relay was noteworthy for the appearance of two Olympians, Dave McNeill (OX) and Peter Bol (SK). While McNeill achieved individual success by running 10:54, one of the fastest times ever recorded by an APS athlete, Bol enjoyed team success, with St Kevin’s winning its first Dyson since 1994. The Old Xaverians women, featuring

Read More…

APSU welcomes new members

May 23, 2017

Haileybury AC has ceased its affiliation with Athletics Victoria and this has hit APS United hard, with the loss of several key athletes going to competing clubs. So it was pleasing to see four new faces at Wandin Park, all recruited from the Melbourne Midday Milers training group. Two of these, Janice de Vries and Cheryl Martin,

Read More…

Changes to calendar

May 15, 2017

Owing to a very late change in the date of the AV Half Marathon, APSOC has been forced to switch the Cooke-McClelland 8k to Saturday 19 August and the end of year dinner to Saturday 2 September. The calendar on the APSOC website has now been amended to reflect these changes.

Young guns lead the way

May 10, 2017

There are some outstanding young athletes coming through the APSOC ranks. James Lightfoot and Ed Beischer (both OS) are both still at school, but they were the two fastest runners at the Orchard 10k. Among the women, Anne Martin (CG) achieved the rare feat of being both the fastest open and fastest 40+ athlete. Caulfield Grammarians

Read More…

Oh so close at Berwick

May 6, 2017

Jake Malone (CG) started last, but ran through the field to finish only four seconds behind the handicap winner, David Rayner (OC). Needless to say, Jake ran the day’s fastest time, while Julie Manning (OX) was the quickest of the women. Go to the Results tab to see how everyone else went.

APS United begins winter campaign

April 27, 2017

The Athletics Victoria XCR ’17 series began with the traditional Jells Park cross country relays. It was a hard day at the office for APSU, with the women’s division 4 team obtaining our best placing of 2nd. The division 1 team, with two juniors and two M40+ runners, worked hard for 9th place.

SKAC back on the winning list

April 18, 2017

It has been more than twenty years since St Kevin’s won a teams event in the APSOC competition. This was remedied by a dominant performance at the Jamieson. Led by two Olympians and an Australian record holder, St Kevin’s won divisions 1 and 2. Old Xaverians won the women’s division. Luke Mathews (SK), who won the race,

Read More…

Karen Thorp

April 1, 2017

Elected member email or 0423 619 396

2017 registrations now open

March 17, 2017

APSOC is now accepting on line athlete registrations for the 2017 season. Just follow the instructions on the registration page.

10k – men

February 3, 2017

* Sandown course 2008 short by 100m

Old Geelong Grammarians

January 23, 2017

Uniform: pale blue singlet, black shorts Contact Chris Perry by email or 0412 561788

Candice Charles – Life Member 2015

January 18, 2017

Candice came to Melbourne from Adelaide and, having befriended a leading Old Scotch athlete, joined Old Scotch Collegians Athletic Club in 1990. This was shortly after finishing third female in the Australian Marathon Championships on the Gold Coast in a time of 2:49.14. Whilst not the first female runner to join OS, Candice was one

Read More…

Alan Rowe – Life Member 2014

January 18, 2017

Alan has had a fifty year involvement in athletics as an athlete, club administrator and official. Alan attended Carey Grammar in the 1960s and was one of the school’s leading cross country and middle distance runners. After leaving school, Alan competed for the Old Carey Athletic Club during its early years as a track and

Read More…

John Macmillan – Life member 2012

January 18, 2017

John has been associated with APSOC for over forty years. He is a loyal Old Xaverian and has been a regular competitor in APSOC competition. A look at the competition results shows a total lack of John’s name among the winners. This was and is not his strength and John considers himself one our many

Read More…