Incredible finish to Cooke-McClelland

10 September 2022

If Tom Bowers (OS) beat Adam Pyke (OW) in the final event of the season, there would be a tie for the male Athlete of the Year. The two men traded the lead for the entire 8 km of the new Cooke-McClelland course. In a mad sprint for the line, Adam prevailed by just 0.12 seconds, thereby winning both the race and the AOTY award. This was possibly the closest finish in APSOC history. Old Xaverians again dominated the team sections of the event and Alan Colman (OX) won the sealed handicap.